Life Story

18 Jun

Kept safely on a low shelf inside my wardrobe are 3 very special books:

One is a book crafted by my own fair, dextrous and creative hands. Lots of perspiration and profanity went into its fine production.

The book is a veritable Who’s Who of the Permanently Pickled household. It holds pictures of me, OH and Gherkin, the Olds, the animals, the car, the house. Surgically sutured into the back of the book is a DVD, containing a short clip of moi (as the protagonist) standing in the doorway, rather awkwardly and gawkily offering a warm welcome to Casa Chaos.

From the hallway, I glide towards the living room with all the gracefulness of a bag of bricks and, à la Anthea Redfern, present my loving family – just as my cousin quickly dives out of the way of the lens.

It’s cringe-worthy. It’s god-awful. It was a horrid reminder of those not-so-halcyon days of GCSE drama.

But there was a damn fine reason for putting myself into such an embarrassing position. This book and – soon-to-be-acclaimed – DVD were to provide Pickle with his first glimpse of his new forever family. The foster carers adeptly used them to drip-feed information to Pickle, so that when we finally met he would have some sense of familiarity with the random strangers he was to call mummy and daddy.

The second book is an album of photographs meticulously compiled by Pickle’s foster carers, charting his time with them. This was the most useful book to us in the early days following his transition. It made Pickle feel warm and safe to look back on the good times with the foster carers when he was feeling uneasy and at his most insecure and vulnerable. He would also understandably cry a lot and miss the sanctuary of their home. It could be difficult to sustain animated enthusiasm and a jolly tone when a frightened and anxious child was crumpling in your arms.

The final book is Pickle’s Life Story Book. Assembled by the infinite number of professionals who have flitted in and out of his life. Ultimately, this is the most important book. It’s my link to Pickle’s babyhood. It tells me the place and time he was born, how much he weighed, the circumference of his head. All those specifics that you naturally absorb at the moment you hold your newborn in your arms.

It’s factual and to the point, if not actually that detailed. It’s an honest account of the reasons that Pickle can no longer be in the care of his birth parents.

Up until now, we have only ever looked at the photographs in this book. Photos of him as a tiny baby. There are only 3 or 4. Taken on a mobile phone. Grainy with very few intricacies, like cute dimpled cheeks and knees. I’ve tried squinting my eyes to see them.

I hadn’t therefore expected him to hand me the book last week and ask if I could read the words to him. I wasn’t ready or prepared, but I duly obliged, siphoning off the inappropriate and unnecessary, and watering down the complex language. He then blurted out “Why can I not live with Mummy X and Daddy Y?” I really hadn’t expected THAT question just yet.

But what both flummoxed me and gave me the best feeling ever was when I explained to him about how he came to live with us, about how he was specially chosen. He maturely put his arms around me and asked me where was heart was.

I pointed.

He kissed the place.

6 Responses to “Life Story”

  1. Stix June 18, 2012 at 22:48 #

    *Sobs* Someone hand me the tissues please!!!
    Mini cannot deal with life story stuff at all at the moment…but he does say that whilst Dollop grew in my tummy, he grew in my heart <3

    Well done Pickle on being so interested and so grown-up. Life story stuff is hard, and it's hard knowing when they're ready, and how much they're ready for…sounds like your little man is doing a grand job of leading the way xx

    • permanentlyinapickle June 18, 2012 at 22:49 #

      Felt like a huge breakthrough. We use the ‘born in our hearts’ too. I think it’s a great expression. :) x

  2. Sal x June 18, 2012 at 23:10 #

    I alway have a little tear when I read your blogs. So beautiful Claire x

  3. Threebecomefour June 19, 2012 at 08:41 #

    Having quite the little sniffle here reading this Claire. How beautiful and what a lovely thing for you to hang on to when the tough days come calling. They are simply amazing little people and so grown up at times in their emotions. I remember how I felt when Katie said something similar and that feeling still keeps me going day to day. Katie asks questions about why she can’t live with her birth parents and I always give her an age appropriate answer. Her LSB should be with us soon and I wonder how many questons it will raise. Lovely post. Gem xx

    (PS can you delete the other reply to this post as it came from my other account which is still under construction)

    • permanentlyinapickle June 19, 2012 at 09:10 #

      It is a lovely guide for all of us. I’m not sure it is written in the way I would like it to be. It’s a devoid of any emotion, but I suppose that is the way it had to be written from SS point of view. He’s starting to show and interest in words now, so he’s going to want to hear more and more. I need to add things to our book too. Did you do your own book for Katie? x

Leave a reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 636 other followers

