Dad’s Take

14 Apr

Let me introduce myself, I am the long suffering husband of my little “nest of vipers” as I affectionately call her, and I hope you will forgive me for this pathetic attempt at a blog.  I have banned the wife from reading it until I have finished and then and only then can she comment on my spelling, my lack of punctuation, my using too much punctuation, my lack of wit and having no structure whatsoever in my writing.

I made the schoolboy error while we were away on holiday of saying that I might do a blog, and since that point she has gone at least an hour without reminding me of it.  So here I am.  Which is a strange feeling for me because I don’t do facebook, twitter, kindles, ipods, ipads, texting, anything really to do with technology.  I’ll make it short and sweet then.

The wife is what I would call an analyst.  She analyses anything and everything, and then some, while I have the hide of a Rhino.  So in truth I am about as supportive to her in this regard as a broken jock strap.  So, on this day in my 41st year I am going to break with tradition and go against everything I know and offer an opinion on something.  This is what I think of my little “streak of piss”.

Pickle has improved massively over the last two years, in every conceivable way.  Gone is the spitting, biting, kicking, and major tantrums and going is his insecurity.  He is at his happiest at home and for me this is a massive compliment to us.  Well actually, not to us really, to her.  While I am out at work, she is doing the hard graft at home, being referee, mum, counsellor, security blanket, punch bag and general slave.  I have the easy job going to work for sure.  She criticises herself continually for being a bad mum, but this couldn’t be further from the truth.  She is the best thing that has ever happened to Pickle and you know what, Pickle knows that too.

See you in another forty years …..

6 Responses to “Dad’s Take”

  1. Jennifer Duncan (@LuvFoodCookFood) April 14, 2012 at 13:32 #

    I think you have written a brilliant blog. In fact, it is so good that I think you should be regular blogger. 🙂

    • permanentlyinapickle April 14, 2012 at 13:33 #

      Blimey, Jen! Whose side are you on? 😉 (That’s me speaking, not ‘im!)

  2. adoptandkeepcalm April 14, 2012 at 17:58 #

    Lovely!

  3. Threebecomefour April 15, 2012 at 17:49 #

    We need more Dad’s opinions on adoption!! Time to start your own blog Mr Pickle!!

  4. permanentlyinapickle April 18, 2012 at 23:50 #

    Don’t tell him I told you but I changed ‘councillor’ to ‘counsellor’. I asked his permission. I let a few other things go, but couldn’t abide that one 😮 😉

Leave a reply

