Gherkin’s Feelings on Adoption

7 May

This is a guest star named Gherkin. And this part of the blog is all about how tough it is for me and for every child who has had such a change and impact to what has happened to them over the years they have been through the adoption process.

4 things that have been really hard for me over the past few years

  • The urge to retaliate and to do to Pickle what he does to me to show him what it feels like but I really think that that is the wrong thing to do.
  • The pain when I get bit and really hurt.
  • When he calls me names they are just words he does not know but they still get to me sometimes.
  • The thing about doing things different to what I would usually do and trying to keep my calm is very difficult.

4 things that have been good about the past few years

  • The feeling of giving Pickle a new home.
  • The feeling I get when he thanks me and cuddles me.
  • When he looks up to me.
  • Seeing how far he has come.

If you are thinking of adopting I think you should do it because it is a thing that you will not regret. Just forget about the negative and look at the positive. You will give a wonderful child a new loving family and a brand new house to live in.

14 Responses to “Gherkin’s Feelings on Adoption”

  1. Nicola May 7, 2012 at 20:59 #

    We love gherkin xxx

  2. permanentlyinapickle May 7, 2012 at 21:02 #

    Now I am biased, but this is brilliant, Gherkin. I wasn’t allowed to look at it until I posted it. I am gobsmacked at the standard of writing. Top marks in SATs now, young man, otherwise it’s bread and water for you for the next year. 😉

  3. anne May 7, 2012 at 21:07 #

    Amazing blog Gherkin, what a mature and sensitive boy you are, you must be a wonderful son and the best big brother!

  4. Ness May 7, 2012 at 21:26 #

    Gherkin – you really are a very wise young man indeed. It sounds like it must be tough at times…but one thing is for sure, Pickle is very lucky to have such a great big brother and by the sound of it there are some ‘very’ special times that you share with each other. We’re hoping to follow the advice that you wisely give in your last paragraph – to hopefully offer a wonderful child a loving family, just like yours. Your parents must be incredibly proud of you. ;o)

  5. Suzy Norman Writes May 7, 2012 at 21:54 #

    Well done Gherkin! Pickle is a very lucky boy indeed.

  6. Suzy Norman Writes May 7, 2012 at 21:56 #

    Well done Gherkin, Pickle is a very lucky brother indeed.

  7. Anne Little May 7, 2012 at 22:49 #

    HI Gherkin I loved reading what you had to say about the changes your little brother has made to your life.You sound like someone cool to have as a big brother

  8. Kat May 8, 2012 at 09:40 #

    Wow! This is amazing. What an eloquent young man. So moving and from the heart.

  9. Stix May 8, 2012 at 10:06 #

    Gherkin you sound ever so wise, and I love your writing – your mum should have you guest post more often!
    It sounds like you love your brother very much even though times with him can be difficult. I hope my little girl grows up to be as wise and loving towards her adopted brother as you are (even though times are sometimes tough here too).

  10. Charlotte May 8, 2012 at 15:56 #

    Great post! I love how you have talked about Gherkins feelings in several posts!

  11. permanentlyinapickle May 8, 2012 at 16:08 #

    Thanks to you all for the lovely comments. I haven’t replied as Gherkin will send his own reply soon.

  12. Cathie Hunter May 8, 2012 at 20:47 #

    Aww, so sweet and mature xxx

  13. permanentlyinapickle May 10, 2012 at 18:42 #

    This is Gherkin here. Thank you for all your kind comments and I hope it helps another child have a new home and a new family. Also I hope it will help people in my position.

    • Anne Little May 10, 2012 at 19:26 #

      To Gherkin,
      I am sure your comments will help alot of people. Well done you

Leave a reply

