Hug in a Mug

3 Mar

Sipping hot chocolate after a major meltdown, Pickle quietly whispered, “Mummy, sometimes I feel like I’m a really bad person.”

The anger had dissipated, the frustration eased. But the sadness in those words felt like a hand clenching and strangling my stomach. My heart sank. I wanted to have my own meltdown at that very moment.

“I get so angry. I don’t know why. I feel like I’m bad, a really bad person. It makes me want to kill myself”.

For an emotionally immature (not-so-)little man, sometimes I’m in awe of his heightened emotional intelligence. His paradoxical nature baffles, intrigues and saddens me.

We have had a rough few weeks. There have been (too many) difficulties at school. Primarily down to complacency, poor management and inadequate training. Mistakes have been made but after much steam blasting from my ears and many lip-wobbling discussions, plans and strategies* are being put in place and internal issues are being addressed.

“You’re not a bad person. We just have some hard stuff to deal with and together, we’ll make it easier. We need to have to a little bit of patience and buckets of determination”.

“Do you know, Mummy, you’re my happy person?”

We still have a long way to go but, for now, life seems that little bit better with hot chocolate.

happy-quotes-1917-520x245

*Blog to come

5 Responses to “Hug in a Mug”

  1. Suzy Norman Writes March 4, 2015 at 11:28 #

    You are such a terrific mother!

    • Clairey March 10, 2015 at 10:41 #

      Oh erm, I’m not so sure about that. I was the “Queen of death” the other day.

  2. jsackmom June 22, 2015 at 19:12 #

    Oh wow my heart breaks for your Pickle my oldest son has said the same to me. I know he just needs to have his quiet time from being sensory overloaded all day long at school. I give him an hour to decompress after school and it helps a ton. Although I worry (don’t we all) of him being out of school and routine. He thrives on it but in small doses. He can’t be too busy or too bored it’s a constant balancing act. You’re a great Mom to have hugs and hot chocolate waiting. That’s always when the best conversations happen. 😊

    • Clairey June 22, 2015 at 19:18 #

      I can’t say I am 100% patient all the time, I must admit. :). You are right though, I find providing a calm environment is perfect for getting the best out of our kids. It doesn’t always work but at least I can say I tried. Thanks again for “popping over”. I’ll get biscuits next time 😉

      • jsackmom June 22, 2015 at 23:51 #

        I understand that completely Claire. Calm and regulated are the mantra in my household. If we don’t have that there’s hell to pay. 😉

Leave a reply

